Sample Bar & Steakhouse

Sample Bar & Steakhouse

North Rush Street
Chicago IL 60611
512-266-8999

Visit Us

Find Us

Online Profiles
  • Foursquare
  • Google Places
  • Yellow Pages
  • Yelp
  • Zomato
Reviews
  • Sep 18, 2017 by Deb Niles-Tien

    We had the best time here by the piano bar! And if you ever think a steak can't be worth $57, you need to try it! My husband and I split it and it was to die for! If you are visiting Chicago, you need to try this place for the fabulous steak and the atmosphere! Then we finished our night by getting a drink at.The Hancock! An evening that couldn't be beat!

  • Sep 15, 2017 by Eli Green

    For a truly Chicago experience look no further. Go eat in the bar and sit at the piano, yes, at the piano! Incredible scene of locals and visitors throughout. Small bathrooms upstairs only with an attendant (who is very nice). Valet parking ins't a must but it can be hard to find a spot on the street and there are plenty of lots nearby.
    The food is great. Steaks come with soup or salad, but the sides are healthy servings. Best part: drinks appear almost as fast as you can order them.

  • Sep 14, 2017 by George Vaisey

    A bit of a delay getting seated past our reservation but the staff was great. Attentive, quick and informative it's one of the top steak houses every visited.

    The food was beyond expectations and great taste and cooked to perfection. The brussel sprouts were to die for and desert was bigger than ever experienced.

  • Aug 29, 2017 by Bill Hoole II

    The lunch menu is the best kept secret in fine dining. 10oz NY strip asparagus and potatoe for $22. This is a $60 meal for dinner and it's a steak every day of the week. Cedar plank salmon is another knock out plate for under $20. They pour a proper cocktail and the bartenders/managers remember the repeat customers. A true throw back to the way fine dining was done for most of the last century.

  • Aug 25, 2017 by James Joost

    Gibsons is a reliable gem. The atmosphere is great, and you never know who will be dining at the table next to you. Further, if you want a great steak, this is the place to go. Not only is the quality of both the seafood and steak the finest you'll find, the sides are pretty amazing as well. Must tries are the porterhouse, sauteed mushrooms, and spinach. Oh, and try the bread as well.

  • Aug 19, 2017 by Brad Shook

    We couldn't have had a better dining experience! The hostess Elizabeth was so nice to us after having been "turned away" at Tavern on Rush--aparently we don't fit the TOR "mold" for clientele. Sara our waitress was amazing! So kind and thoughtful to our 11 yr old daughter. Food was awesome! Please visit this place!

  • Aug 06, 2017 by Deheli James

    The food was great and the customer service was excellent. I felt welcomed the minute I stepped in the door. The server we had was truly genuine and took his time to explain the different cuts of meat. It's a bit pricey but it's worth it. I definitely will be going back.

  • Jul 22, 2017 by Randy Goins

    By far the best streakhouse experience I have had and I've eaten at several world class steakhouses! Ordered the surf and turf, steak was a little under cooked but still tasted perfect. Lobster was phenomenal and the largest I've ever seen. Recommend Crab and avocado app and the strawberry shortcake for dessert! It's massive and can easily feed 4. Ask for Zack, he's a solid waiter who was straight forward and provided us insights which saved us money. Strongly recommend this Chicago landmark

  • Jul 16, 2017 by Rick Washburn

    While not for those who don't want spend much, if you bust out the cash you get what you pay for! WOW best steak I've ever had. Great service. 30 min wait on a Sunday night was well worth it!

  • Jul 11, 2017 by Ashlyn

    This place was amazing! I sat in the bar area at the counter, the atmosphere was fun with a piano player in the background. It had tv in the bar but no sound so that was nice so you could hear the piano. The bartenders were very great and friendly. You can have the whole menu at the bar so that was great. I had the 16oz prime rib, a half order of mashed potatoes and gravy and half order of bacon, bourbon Brussel sprouts. Everything was fantastic! Everything was a 10/10. Everything was perfectly cooked and the prime rib was so tender. I will be back for sure! It is worth the price. Make sure you go here!

  • Jul 08, 2017 by Sarai Hernandez

    Yesterday I went to eat at this place! I'm so in love with their steaks! What I loved the most is the presentation of the steaks cuts they give you in the beginning! Our waiter was energetic I loved his vibe! We will visit again with an empty stomach because we were not able to finish all our food! Visiting from Maryland I wish we had a Gibson over there!

  • Jul 04, 2017 by Sarveshwar Reddy

    So one of my fav places in terms of steak and a mist recommended for all steak lovers out there. There s nothing better you can get. Place is always packed and you might gotta wait a bit to get a table during the peak hours however trust me it's worth the wait guys. Have tried almost everything on there menu :). Consistent with the quality and the food served. Keep it up guys ✌. #steakattack #steakpower #gibsons

  • Jul 02, 2017 by Foodie

    Try the Faroe Island Salmon - (via @Foodspotting)

  • Jul 02, 2017 by Foodie

    Try the Planked Whitefish - Milder than New England seafood, but perfectly fresh and we'll seasoned (via @Foodspotting)

  • Jul 02, 2017 by Christopher

    Great #salads -- the avocado and kale is a must try!

  • Jul 02, 2017 by Vijeesh Varghese

    That was a good and lovely steak ----- Was suggested by my Chicago friemds And was worth visiting Preparation was just perfect rating 4.5/5 Ambience is a bit congested but good vibes rating 3.5/5 Service 4/5 Overall 4.5/5 For beef lovers

  • Jul 01, 2017 by Amanda Salinas

    I just LOVE Gibsons. Everytime I get off of work I always come down to see Pauly, mark and DAN! They're the best guys behind the bar and take care of me really well. i always look forward to Tuesday's and Wednesday's to visit my guys! :) oh and chad is great too! Best server as well. Recommend him and all the dear staff.

  • Jun 25, 2017 by Jeff Song

    Gibson's is the prototypical classic American steakhouse. Great steaks, classic service, and meals that really don't disappoint. Although it's pricey, I often feel like I got my money's worth. I typically opt to dine next door at Hugo's given that they share a kitchen and one can get anything on each respective menu regardless of where you sit, but Gibson's has a charm of its own. Definitely high on the recommendation list for Chicago steakhouses.

  • Jun 24, 2017 by Paz Shevlin

    The Ambiance is so old school and masculine. Excellent service, men and meat whisking around, a fireplace, top notch drinks, excellent steak, table side salad service. It's a special occasion place $$$$ so you'll hear Happy Birthday a couple of times. This place is awesome.

  • Jun 03, 2017 by Dave McMurray

    One of the best restaurants in Chicago. The staff is incredibly friendly, helpful and experienced. It's the best steak you'll have in your life. The double-baked potatoes are out of this world. A Chicago staple!

  • Jun 02, 2017 by SUNDAY KAYODE

    Awesome. Joe, a staff was helpful when one of our guys was sick. I mean going extra lenght to offer help. Excellent meal served with courtesy. Planning a family visit next week again.

  • May 24, 2017 by Nathaniel Jones

    Excellent service here, not to mention the food is great. The last time we came, I had the tillapia sliders, which have a very well-seasoned breading. Also a great spot for people-watching if you sit near the windows in the bar area.

  • May 19, 2017 by Justin

    Great for entertaining business or out of town guests

  • May 18, 2017 by Keerat Shah

    My girlfriend and I enjoyed a meal with an eastern star sister for her birthday. I was royally impressed with the service I received. The waiter attended to our every need and made us feel like his only purpose was to serve us and us alone! I was so impressed with his service that we tipped more than normal and I had to inform him that I would not eat there again.....if he was not our waiter! To the owners of Gibsons, as long as you have waiters like GRGO......you will always have a patron in me!

  • May 16, 2017 by test

    great restaurant

  • May 06, 2017 by John Miller

    Staff was very helpful - selected a perfect wine for me to have with my meal. They also go over the cuts of steak and cooking instructions (note that their medium might be a little redder than your average medium - still good though).

    The waiter informed us this is a sharing restaurant. We took his recommendation to heart ordering several sides and most of the party sharing steaks. This was definitely the ideal way to go about the meal. Desert is likewise for a table... Unless you can eat a whole carrot cake yourself after a hugely filling meal.

    Excellent experience overall. Deserves the reputation as the high-end steak place in Chicago. Book a reservation well in advance, don't look at prices, and, for God's sake, order a steak.

  • May 05, 2017 by Michael Ticich

    The quintessential Chicago steakhouse. Great beef, huge portions (don't think you can come here by yourself and finish a side or dessert!), and great service. Most of the staff has been there for a long time, so they know the menu inside and out and are more than happy to assist with your selection. It is also a great place to people watch, and even catch a couple celebrities. I once stumbled upon the Piano Man, Billy Joel himself at the bar tickling the ivories (this was some years ago)! A must try for both locals and visitors. It's not cheap by any means, but worth every penny.

  • May 03, 2017 by PureWow

    Gold Coast: Sometimes you need a little old-school flavor. Enter Gibsons, our go-to for prime cuts of steak and seafood and views of the passers-by in Mariano Park.

  • Apr 30, 2017 by Siya Parmar

    We had a large party at Gibson's and they did a fantastic job. the food was awesome, service impeccable and everyone had a great time. Can't say enough about how well they performed. We had starters which included Filet mignon sliders, Lamb chops plus other great apps. The entrees were equally awesome and we would highly recommend the restaurant.

  • Apr 30, 2017 by Howartha

  • Apr 29, 2017 by Muse4Fun

    Big food, but the steak was too charred for my preference. It competed too much with the flavor of the filet. Loud atmosphere, too.

  • Apr 28, 2017 by Steve

    Large cuts of prime meat, huge sides, desserts that feed a minimum of 3 people. I can't not speak more highly of this place.

  • Apr 28, 2017 by Michael Cote

    Chicago Institution! The food is as good as the other reviews say it is.

    What sometimes get missed is their award winning customer service. Senior management bends over backwards to treat their frontline employees like royalty, while expecting them to do the same for you.

  • Apr 23, 2017 by Julie L.

    Chicago's culinary landscape spoils in its vastness. With restaurants popping up continuously with no fewer than 50 steakhouses alone, one flavor never gets...

  • Apr 21, 2017 by Stuart

    Steak is fantastic. Staff here are great too.

  • Apr 18, 2017 by A

    Gotta go with the steak. Good patio seating for the nice weather

  • Apr 08, 2017 by Claudia

    Good , loud place for after dinner drinks

  • Apr 06, 2017 by Lisa E.

    Wow. This was actually one of my better steak meals ever!!! My husband ordered the NY strip steak with the bacon and cheese loaded potato with sour cream...

  • Apr 05, 2017 by Janice Wilkerson

    Oh I just love Gibsons. My husband and I go every year for our anniversary. We always have excellent service and delicious and satisfying food. I would definitely recommend it. Every time we have friends in town visiting, we try to make it there for a meal to give them a delightful taste of Chicago. I am giving 4 stars though because I only give 5 if I am truly blown away every experience. I would say it is worth it to go and try for yourself.

  • Mar 26, 2017 by Yahya Kassem

    Very delicious steaks and very hospitable staff. The latrine facilities are very well maintained. Me and my family enjoyed ourselves. Job well done Gibsons Steakhouse .

  • Mar 25, 2017 by Todd B.

    Another meal with the fam while in town for the long weekend. If you like the League on FX, Bonus. This is the bar they meet at.

    We've been with no kids...

  • Mar 21, 2017 by Felicia K.

    You can't visit Chicago and not go to Gibsons!
    The steak was amazing, salmon was cooked perfect and the sides I loved each and everyone.
    The cauliflower was...

  • Mar 21, 2017 by Beyonce Smick

    Great place for happy hour. Prices are very reasonable with plenty of options. Love their spicy edamame. Drinks were average, but the good price of the food made up for it. Plus sitting on the patio you typically get to see several different dogs that customers have brought with them. Service was good also.
    Helpful?

  • Mar 18, 2017 by hülya orhan

    Good meat, good staff. Portion sizes are satisfactory. It's worth the money you pay. Skirt steak is wonderful. I advice mushrooms as side dish.

  • Mar 16, 2017 by A Google User

    Gibsons is a solid choice among Chicago steakhouses. The restaurant presents a visually appealing interior. Servers are exceptionally knowledgeable and friendly. Expansive menu with plenty of choices. The ambiance is perfection for a date night or dinner with friends.

  • Mar 11, 2017 by CCnyc

    Pace yourself and leave room for dessert - the macadamia turtle pie is a sleeper/ showstopper.

  • Mar 07, 2017 by ANN RAMPLING

    My husband and I went here to have dinner with some people we are organizing a charity with . The wine was wonderful and the steaks were excellent.. the serve was perfect! Nice staff and wonderful atmosphere.

  • Mar 07, 2017 by Tricia Vine

    I love Gibsons. It's always a good time with great energy and noise, whether in the restaurant or the bar. The menu options are great...you can go all out for a true Chicago steak dinner, or you can just get a great, well-priced meal with some of the more casual options. One of my very favorite CHI places

  • Feb 18, 2017 by Victor V.

    Arriving at this restaurant at a busy hour, despite not having a reservation, we were seated immediately.
    Gregory greeted us right away and offered to...

  • Feb 16, 2017 by David Clarke

    Food was excellent, service was terrible. I was shocked at the quality of service for being a high end restaurant. Every part of the meal took way too long. We waited and waited for everything. The killer was people around us seemed to be getting good service, just not us. We were dressed well and we are nice polite people so dont know what the issue was. Probably ruined any future trips. For that price I can find somewhere that knows how to treat customers.

  • Feb 14, 2017 by James V.

    Perhaps the best steakhouse in the city! The steaks are actually cooked to perfection and the W.R.'s Chicago Cut is the best damn piece of steak that you...

  • Feb 14, 2017 by hülya orhan

    Good meat, good staff. Portion sizes are satisfactory. It's worth the money you pay. Skirt steak is wonderful. I advice mushrooms as side dish.

  • Jan 22, 2017 by ISC

    Steaks done right

  • Jan 22, 2017 by Peter Jakubowicz

    Used to be a must visit steakhouse, especially for Birthday & Anniversary celebrations. Our recent visit on 1-20-2017 wasn't so special. The steaks were over done and drinks way over priced. Albeit, located in the trendy Rush St. neighborhood, $13 for a Canadian Club on the rocks

  • Jan 17, 2017 by Ralph Gray

    “Very Nice”
    Very nice for dinner, particularly a date or a business dinner. Very professional wait staff. Expensive but worth it.

  • Jan 14, 2017 by Matthew

    WS Chicago cut was very good, Australian lobster is a very rare treat and chocolate mousse cake it decadent.

  • Jan 07, 2017 by Charles Bastian

    The staff at the front door was a little rude. But, once we made it to our table, things immediately took a turn for the better. The waitress was very helpful (except for wine questions, since she said she did not drink wine). The food was excellent. The atmosphere was excellent. I would return here.

  • Jan 03, 2017 by Stephanie Phillips

    I love Gibsons. It's always a good time with great energy and noise, whether in the restaurant or the bar. The menu options are great...you can go all out for a true Chicago steak dinner, or you can just get a great, well-priced meal with some of the more casual options. One of my very favorite CHI places

  • Jan 01, 2017 by Mikee R.

    Yeah! FU____________________________K!!!
    How in the world can this place nail a meal so well?
    They are the apex which other places should strive for.
    Even...

  • Dec 30, 2016 by Katie Galvin

    I love Gibsons. It's always a good time with great energy and noise, whether in the restaurant or the bar. The menu options are great...you can go all out for a true Chicago steak dinner, or you can just get a great, well-priced meal with some of the more casual options. One of my very favorite CHI places

  • Dec 29, 2016 by Ashlee O'Neil

    We hosted an event back in November at Gibsons and had a wonderful experience! Our members enjoyed the ambiance and delicious appetizers. The staff was very attentive and friendly. We highly recommend for anyone looking to host an event!

  • Dec 18, 2016 by Luis G.

    If you want to eat a great meal or want to celebrate a special occasion this place is it!

    I had the ribeye and my gf had the fillet and both were in my top...

  • Dec 18, 2016 by Loretta C.

    The family went last night and we were so stuffed by the time we left we thought we were going to burst.

    In the bar first had an amazing Bloody Mary and...

  • Dec 17, 2016 by Christopher

    Nothing beats a #Gibsons #burger for #lunch on a wintery Saturday afternoon in #Chicago.

  • Dec 16, 2016 by Andre

    Good steak and good service

  • Dec 09, 2016 by terri

    gggg

  • Dec 05, 2016 by julie Johnson

    Jules was Awesome!!

  • Nov 29, 2016 by Bob Massey

    Most over rated dive in Chicago.
    Business dinner.
    Made reservations a month in advance.
    Confirmed day of dinner.
    Had to stand at the bar 2 1/2 hours past reservation.
    Ordered steak medium rare.
    Came well done & mostly grizzle.
    We dine out often & money is no object.
    We will never return.

  • Nov 25, 2016 by Latoya R.

    With only a few days to spend in Chicago, I was looking for an epic steakhouse experience. Based off of the reactions of several locals regarding my...

  • Nov 23, 2016 by Jill Barmari

    Food tastes exceedingly good. sophisticated service and very professional. The atmosphere is very welcoming and the staff is friendly. Nothing to complain about.

  • Nov 15, 2016 by Terri

    Awesome.

  • Nov 10, 2016 by Summer M.

    If you're looking for Chicago's most iconic steakhouse, then you've found it.
    Make sure to make a reservation and expect to be seated very close to your...

  • Nov 09, 2016 by Curt W.

    With all of my travels it is not often that I give 5 stars. Gibson's is special. My wife and I shared a 14 oz filet. It was cooked perfectly and was super...

  • Nov 08, 2016 by Adam C.

    Quintessential Chicago steakhouse! Food is always top-notch, service personable and uber-attentive, drinks are generous and well crafted.

    Never...

  • Nov 05, 2016 by Aimee C.

    This is my favorite steakhouse to date out of all the states and restaurants I've tried thus far. I typically get the filet mignon (cooked rare) and it...

  • Nov 05, 2016 by Aimee Coors Stitz

    This is my favorite steakhouse to date out of all the states and restaurants I've tried thus far. I typically get the filet mignon (cooked rare) and it simply melts in your mouth. I've tried a number of appetizers: oysters, wedge salad, lump crab meat, shrimp cocktail and all were fantastic. When I'm in my "diet" mode for my body building shows, I order either the tuna or swordfish. Both were fantastic. The greatest feature of the restaurant though may be the dessert selection (I'm a dessert person) with THE largest pieces of cakes (as in like 8 lbs). The chocolate mousse is my go-to, but the carrot cake is amazing if you're craving that as well. This restaurant is untouchable. Superb service and atmosphere.

  • Nov 04, 2016 by Dalia

    Portions are BIG !

  • Oct 21, 2016 by Ronnie Saulnier

    Fantastic food. Best steak I have ever had. Andrew our server was fantastic. Reservations are a must. May also see famous people.

  • Oct 20, 2016 by Justin Wong

    Food was fantastic. Even just getting some appetizers and you'll be nicely surprised. Bar staff was super friendly and personable, they help make a great atmosphere in the restaurant. Live piano, and friendly patrons made this a great time!

  • Oct 16, 2016 by Michael Irgang

    I went to Gibson's for dinner during the week with my elderly mother. I have been in the restaurant industry for nearly 30 years in various capacities. The wait staff and host continuously asked us how are food was to the point where we were continuously being interrupted and could not enjoy our meal. I think asking us one, may twice, if our food is good is acceptable. I counted six times which is excessive and detracted from the experience. A little common sense goes a long way.

  • Oct 12, 2016 by Michael Stoller

    This is one of the best steakhouses I've ever been to. Great service and perfectly cooked steaks.

    Portion size is enough to kill a man. Leaving satisfied is guaranteed. Slightly pricey so if your on a budget, forget it.

  • Oct 07, 2016 by Joseph Briggs

    Gibsons is top notch. Chicago has more steak houses than hotels, but Gibsons stands tall above of the rest. With their own USDA grade beef certification and their well trained staff. I would recommended a wedge and ribeye. Make sure to get reservations or you will on the outside looking in.

  • Oct 07, 2016 by Joe

    Everything!

  • Oct 06, 2016 by Bobby B.

    Love Love LOVE This place!

    I have never had a bad experience here! The entire staff is friendly and down to earth.

    Yes, this place is a bit...

  • Oct 06, 2016 by Richard Wible

    filet outstanding. atmosphere great. drink pours could be better on the scotch. haven't gone many places where i have felt I have gotten an under pour on multiple drinks.

  • Oct 01, 2016 by Victor

    always great and lively.

  • Sep 24, 2016 by Michael key

    A must when visiting Chicago. I love this joint. It has history, great staff and decadent food. Forget about being on a diet at Gibsons. One desert is enough for four people.

  • Sep 22, 2016 by Sarah J.

    I sat at the bar to visit my friend Katelyn who is a new server there. Rich was the bartender, and he is the sweetest most engaging man! I love him.

    I...

  • Sep 17, 2016 by Dalia

    The steak is great

  • Sep 11, 2016 by Nas A.

    The best burger in the city.

    I love this place, steak is so delicious and the patio is beautiful.

  • Aug 26, 2016 by Raymond Perry

    Caution - Huge portions of delicious food!
    We just had a wonderful meal at Gibson’s Bar and Steakhouse. We had read that the portions are huge, but we were unprepared for just how much food there was. But more importantly, everything was delicious!

    Entrees come with a choice of salad or soup. I was really thinking salad, but the soup was lobster bisque. We could not pass that up. I have had lobster bisque at some really good restaurants, and I have to say this was among the best I have had.

    My wife loves a good filet. She usually has a 6-ounce. The smallest at Gibson’s is 10 ounces so she was a bit concerned. She did herself proud, though, and finished the whole thing. I am not an avid steak eater; I really have to be in the mood for one. Fortunately there was a planked whitefish on the menu that sounded interesting. My wife’s filet came out steaming and was perfectly cooked medium as she had requested. I was shocked at my plate. The whitefish fillet was huge - 12-13 inches long and 4-5 inches wide. It could not have been much less than a pound of solid fish, and it was delicious. It was accompanied by what must have been a pound of mashed potatoes. I would not normally order mashed potatoes, but it came with the whitefish. I read a review that criticized the potatoes as bland. I thought they were nicely seasoned and very good. Now, they were just the potatoes, not garlic potatoes or truffled potatoes, and were was no gravy. My wife’s steak included choice of a side so she got the sauteed spinach and mushrooms (that’s one dish, not two separate one). It was a small platter full. I do not think I have ever seen such a large side order. Dinner had begun with a generous plate of 3 delicious breads. Fortunately, the waiter also warned us about the generous services so we at least paced ourselves.

    Steaks at a good steakhouse are always a little pricey, but I thought Gibson’s prices were reasonable. The prices of other menu items were very reasonable for such a popular place. I would highly recommend Gibson’s to anyone visiting downtown. According to Google Maps, it is a 0.7 mile walk from our hotel in the 500 block of N. Miichigan. It was a delightful pre- and post- dinner stroll, especially in the delightful weather this evening.

  • Aug 24, 2016 by Sherman Goh

    We had an amazing experience at the restaurant. Great service and food.

    Special thanks to Elizabeth for making our first visit to this restaurant a special one. She was detailed and helpful in the food recommendsrions. The food were also served very timely.

  • Aug 24, 2016 by Hanna G.

    I celebrated my 12th year anniversary every thing was great drinks Food Evan more great ..
    If your going give this place a try the lobster is the best...

  • Aug 22, 2016 by Lisica's Lounge

    From the moment we were ushered to our table to the informative introduction to the menu and the specials our Server was attentive and gave us an awesome experience! Now the food! Oooomagosh delish nosh! Steaks are flavourful and hand cut for Gibson's try the bone in ribeye! I had their surf and turf 10oz fillet and a 10oz lobster tail which our server asked if I wanted removed from the shell, nice touch. The food was not only delicious but I had left overs! The menu is a la carte so beware but all our sides ie spinach, potatoes, asparagus, lobster mac n cheese we soooo yummy! A must experience when you visit Chicago for an ole school steakhouse! See pictures! Btw my two dinner companions are Vegetarians and they loooved the veggie choices! The chocolate mousse cake is a Gibson must, will feed 4 to 6 ppl comfortably or jus take it home for a midnight dessert snack!

  • Jul 08, 2016 by Fr Joe

    The drinks, appetizers, salad, steak, side dishes, and desserts were ALL top notch! Great time. Great meal.

  • Jul 06, 2016 by Nick

    Amazing service and the steak is delicious

  • Jun 30, 2016 by Joyce LeBombard Souder

    Overpriced mediocre food. I've eaten at a lot of fine dining establishments over the years, but this one was not worth it at all. My husband and I went there for dinner on a Thursday night. Granted it was 7 pm so the fact that there was a wait wasn't totally unexpected, but the push to wait in the bar to buy expensive drinks was. The restaurant was freezing cold but I guess most of the drunk patrons didn't notice. Then they come around with a tray of uncooked meat, pushing the "Gibson" beef was a joke like it's different. We ordered the halibut which was good but I'm sorry but $42 for an 8 ounce piece of fish is ridiculous. The baked potato wasn't baked (maybe microwaved) and was underdone. Two different manager types came around to make sure we had their business cards. Shortly after the second one left, a waiter spilled water down my husbands back. Table so cramped together you couldn't have a private conversation if you wanted to. So, for $120 some odd dollars we were freezing cold, had 2 pieces of fish, an underdone non-baked potato, 1/2 size lukewarm green beans with mushrooms, and two ice teas while practically sitting with 4 drunk business men at the table next to us. Clearly this place preys upon the business traveler with an expense account rather than couples who are looking for a fine dining experience.

  • Jun 27, 2016 by Elena

    Chicago cut steak is the way to go. And their giant desserts are for sharing only!

  • Jun 19, 2016 by Andrew Stucky

    This is probably our favorite steakhouse in the midwest. We come at least once a year to experience and enjoy the atmosphere. The staff is always great and the food is even better. Just a wonderful combination that always makes for a great night.

  • Jun 15, 2016 by Noura

    Great meat

  • May 06, 2016 by Eater

    Chicago's steakhouse tradition may be best experienced at Gibson's, the swanky Gold Coast institution that Eater readers voted the best steakhouse in America's meatiest city.

  • May 03, 2016 by Annex

    Pure decadence. The kind of place that made me stop and be thankful for my place in the universe that I might have the opportunity to enjoy an evening like that. I wish everyone in the world was fortunate enough to. A beautiful restaurant with extremely professional service. Attention is paid to every detail. It's not as expensive as Gordon Ramsay Steak in Vegas; but close. But just like Ramsay's - worth every penny. We started with oysters on the half shell and salad that progressed into the biggest steaks you have ever seen in your life. We ordered one double baked potato under a blanket of cheese to share and the two of us couldn't finish the whole thing. Same for the delicious brussel sprouts. Everything we tried was excellent. The portions were enough to feed a small country. You think I'm exaggerating? Heh. Dessert, sadly, was out of the question. When back in Chicago we will undoubtedly return. This is too good to pass up. Recommended.

  • Apr 21, 2016 by The BBQ Wizard

    This is so spot on!! The food is amazing, the service is incredible and the atmosphere is perfect. The next time I come to Chicago I am making a bee line to this place. I've never given a 5.0 but this place deserves a 6.0.

  • Apr 13, 2016 by Joey

    Does that food actually look good to anyone? At these prices? Why, with all the choices in Chicago? Why?

  • Apr 01, 2016 by Sari

    Best steaks in Chicago! Amazing desserts!

  • Mar 29, 2016 by Matthew

    The 22 ounce bone in ribeye is super delicious. Their sides are all very great and I personally love the lobster. And if you want to be adventurous try the frog legs

  • Mar 16, 2016 by Rachel Newman

    I really liked this place it was really good. Would return if i go back to Chicagooooooo. I don't understand the chefs in white coats that's are actually servers. Oh and they parade around with king crab trying to get you to buy it .... Nah I'm good

  • Feb 18, 2016 by Gordon

    Old school Chicago steakhouse with gigantic portions.

  • Feb 17, 2016 by Dana

    Classic steakhouse, deserves its rep.

  • Feb 09, 2016 by James

    Great bottle of sparkling rosé with lunch date pricing! Don't be shy... we're in Chicago.

  • Jan 21, 2016 by Staff Picks

    Gibsons Bar & Steakhouse is a dream come true for steak-lovers. It's the #1 ranked Steakhouse in Chicago. If you plan to get dessert, keep in mind that the portions are massive so share, share, share!

  • Dec 22, 2015 by Marc

    Food Network's Top 5 Desserts: #5 The Meaning of Life

  • Dec 16, 2015 by TV Food Maps

    Check out Gibsons Bar

  • Dec 03, 2015 by Majo Ponce

    Lobster is bae.

  • Dec 03, 2015 by David

    Beef! Service. Atmosphere.

  • Nov 23, 2015 by Jeff

    Everything top quality, service second to none. Pricey, nearly worth it. Viagra bar!

  • Nov 06, 2015 by flying

    Try the Sautéed Spinach - #otchefstable #chicago (via @Foodspotting)

  • Nov 06, 2015 by flying

    Try the Roasted Cauliflower Gruyere - #otchefstable #chicago (via @Foodspotting)

  • Nov 06, 2015 by flying

    Try the Sparkling Rose Wine - #otchefstable #chicago (via @Foodspotting)

  • Nov 06, 2015 by flying

    Try the Mashed Potato - #otchefstable #chicago (via @Foodspotting)

  • Nov 06, 2015 by flying

    Try the porterhouse steak - #otchefstable #chicagoCame back! (via @Foodspotting)

  • Nov 01, 2015 by Murray

    Everything great martinis

  • Nov 01, 2015 by flying

    Try the W.R.’s Chicago Cut - #chicago (via @Foodspotting)

  • Nov 01, 2015 by flying

    Try the Gibsons Prime Angus Steak Tartare - #chicago (via @Foodspotting)

  • Nov 01, 2015 by flying

    Try the Oysters - #chicago (via @Foodspotting)

  • Nov 01, 2015 by flying

    Try the Five Rivers Pinot Noir - #chicago (via @Foodspotting)

  • Nov 01, 2015 by flying

    Try the Matilda Beer - #chicago (via @Foodspotting)

  • Nov 01, 2015 by flying

    Try the Shrimp Cocktail - #chicago (via @Foodspotting)

  • Oct 05, 2015 by Brad

    One of my favorite places in Chicago. Great crowd, fantastic service, the steaks are out of this world, cooked to perfection. Great wines, amazing deserts, Took my best friends here, they loved it.

  • Sep 17, 2015 by Aaron

    Overrated, it is not that good. You can find a better steakhouse in town

  • Sep 10, 2015 by Joe D

    Having time for only one steak dinner while visiting Chicago, we asked around and read reviews in an effort to pick a good one. And pick a good one we did. Reservations were honored on time. We were greeted by a smiling hostess and served by a veteran server with a great sense of humor and extensive knowledge of all menu items and wines. The steaks are of exceptional quality. We ordered bone-in Ribeyes and they were some of the most tender flavorful steaks we've had. The sides were large and also of excellent quality. We were shocked when we were served the Chocolate Moose Cake. Our server said, I'll start you off with one piece and we'll see. The portion was so huge we had to laugh. About 7 inches tall and 5 inches wide, this cake was a chocoholic's dream come true. The four of us could only put away about one fourth of the portion served. Highly recommend this restaurant for quality as well as quantity.

  • Aug 29, 2015 by Joe

    This could be Chicago's best.

  • Aug 18, 2015 by Igor

    Prueben el clam chowder y cualquier sirlon

  • Aug 15, 2015 by Cathy

    See Paul at the bar!!!

  • Aug 12, 2015 by tasteeverything

    Uno de los 3 mejores reataurantes de carne que he ido. Todo un clásico si vas a Chicago. No puedes dejar de ir si te gusta la carne.

  • Aug 10, 2015 by Patrick

    Um, I'm here to register for the EBDB?

  • Aug 08, 2015 by Julie

    Go if you want a traditional steakhouse meal. It's an institution for a reason. Also the crab salad is a surprisingly tasty appetizer. Plus cool prosecco single waves

  • Jul 30, 2015 by Fernando

    Awesome view, relaxing and excellent service

  • Jul 27, 2015 by Francisco J.

    The most delicious stake I've ever had in my life

  • Jul 05, 2015 by Carolyn

    Definitely one of the best steaks in the city. Just go for it and get the Filet Mignon

  • Jun 24, 2015 by Natalie

    The chocolate cake is amazing and huge and Dan the bartender is awesome!

  • Jun 15, 2015 by Vera

    Hey Gibsons Bar & Steakhouse, you should join Freebie! The benefits are amazing for both you and me.

  • Jun 03, 2015 by Ives

    Awesome stake and the dessert portion is like 1/4 of the cake

  • May 13, 2015 by Jorge

    De lo mejor de Chicago, el bife es increíble

  • May 08, 2015 by Wynne

    Hey Gibsons Bar & Steakhouse, you should join Freebie! The benefits are amazing for both you and me.

  • Apr 19, 2015 by Mark

    Portions are HUGE! Amazing service provided by our server, Lance. Delicious crab cake Benedict.

  • Apr 07, 2015 by Kit Graham

    Celebrating Cabernet Day with St. Supéry and Gibsons. Happy Cabernet Day everyone! I started the celebration early. Last week I was invited to dine at Chicago’s most legendary steakhouse, Gibsons, with Wine Channel TV and St. Supéry. If there are two things that I am good at, they are drinking wine and eating steak. Going to events like this is my favorite part of food blogging. The host of the lunch, Wine Channel TV, is a wonderful website and resource that educates readers about wine, without being pretentious. Jessica who runs the website is super sweet and she knows her stuff. I was so flattered to be included in the incredible luncheon at Gibsons with a wonderful group of Chicago women. I love how food and wine have a way of bringing people together. Despite what you may think if you watch The League, Gibsons is an upscale bar/restaurant. I will never quite understand why the tv show The League makes it look like a bar, when it is really a classic steakhouse and a place to have a fancy dinner. The restaurant has a several different spaces: a bar with a piano, a large sidewalk patio, and dining rooms both upstairs and downstairs. It is a formal space with a laid back enough atmosphere that wearing jeans is commonplace. We were seated in a private dining room in the upstairs of the restaurants. Our meal started out with a wedge salad, which is something that I love to order at a steakhouse. This salad was massive enough to be a meal, but so scrumptious that it was easy to finish. The homemade thick and chunky blue cheese dressing was the highlight of the dish. It was topped with a generous amount of crispy chopped bacon. Anything involving both bacon and cheese wins me over immediately. Did you know that Bacon Day is on Saturday? Then it was time for steak, well, three steaks to be exact. Gibsons brought out samples of three of their most popular steaks: the filet, the Chicago Cut, and the New York Sirloin. The steaks were paired with the double baked potato, sautéed spinach, and asparagus. I could eat a Gibsons double baked potato everyday. It is creamy and cheesy on the inside, while the skin is crisp. We also shared a plate of the most irresistible french fries. Let’s get one thing straight. Gibsons’ steaks are in a class all of their own. Literally. They are the only restaurant in the country to have been granted their own USDA Prime Certification. Each of their steaks is grass-fed and aged for 40 days. The bottom line is that these are tender, juicy, full of flavor steaks. My personal favorite was the filet since I tend to like leaner cuts of meat. Throughout our meal, we tasted a selection of wine from St. Supéry. St. Supéry is the largest family owned vineyard in Napa. They have two vineyards, and they are committed to sustainable farming. Emma Swain, the CEO of the vineyard, joined us for the lunch, and taught us all about the wines. We tasted three wines, the Napa Valley Estate Elu, the Dollarhide Estate Vineyard Cabernet Sauvignon, and the Napa Valley Estate Cabernet Sauvignon. We started with the 2012 Napa Valley Estate Cabernet Sauvignon. This was an easy to drink wine with hints of blackberry and pepper. At a retail price of around $35, this was the most affordable of the trio of wines. The Dollarhide Estate Vineyard Cabernet Sauvignon was the most robust of the selection. This was a truly full bodied wine with a slight fruitiness. I like to pair a bold wine with steak, and I felt that out of all of the wines we tried Dollarhide was the best pairing for Gibsons steaks. My personal favorite was the Elu, which is a red wine blend. Since blended wines are made from multiple varietals, these wines have a nice complexity. While I loved how the Dollarhide paired with the steak, the Elu is the type of wine that I would sip and savor at home on a cold winter night. The Elu retails for $75, while the Dollarhide is $100. As I am sure you know, the Napa Valley, home of St. Supéry, suffered a earthquake that caused damage to many vineyards. I am happy to say that St. Supéry is doing fine – they are even going out of their way to help their community. Not only do they make fabulous wine at St. Supéry, they are kind people! I am going to end this post with a suggestion. Don’t just celebration Cabernet Day, celebrate it with a wine from Napa. Wouldn’t this be a delicious way to support American winemakers at a time when they need it?

  • Apr 05, 2015 by Giulia

    The tartare is super!

  • Mar 29, 2015 by Francisco

    Muy lento el servicio

  • Mar 26, 2015 by Matthew

    Great experience and food. Loved this place!

  • Mar 15, 2015 by RosaAkaNana

    Seriously one of the best steaks I've ever had.

  • Feb 25, 2015 by Catherine

    In case you don't eat meat or fish, they try to get you a good alternative. Great atmosphere!

  • Feb 24, 2015 by David

    The Goose Island beer goes perfectly with any steak.

  • Feb 14, 2015 by Justin

    ...............

  • Jan 24, 2015 by Mari

    Andy was our waiter. He made our anniversary meal special. As always, the steak was fantastic!!

  • Jan 04, 2015 by laura

    Cauliflower gratin and french dip were just ok

  • Jan 03, 2015 by Allison

    Chicago cut is where it's at!! Definitely buy the seasoning for steak at home! Trust me it's worth it!

  • Jan 01, 2015 by Alex

    Everything's good!

  • Jan 01, 2015 by Christopher

    Thank you Gibson's for giving back to our community!!! I'm sure the clients of Catholic Charities appreciate the meal you provided for them. Your generosity is very inspiring! You have our support!

  • Dec 30, 2014 by Andy

    Getting the crab meat avocado for appetizer was a mistake...should've just had the tuna salad

  • Dec 28, 2014 by Miguel

    41.75Filet Mignon (10 Oz)Texas pecan pie

  • Dec 28, 2014 by Judith

    This is a place that even the tap water is delightful. The chocolate cake isn't for someone counting calories, but it's so worth it.

  • Dec 19, 2014 by Jerry

    I had the scallops and they were remarkable

  • Dec 19, 2014 by Jerry

    Vey good. I recommend the rib eye!

  • Dec 13, 2014 by Danae

    My husband and I split an appetizer, steak, and dessert. We both left stuffed and swore to go again next time we're in town.

  • Dec 12, 2014 by Christopher

    To all Gibson's lovers who want to inspire others to dine at Gibson's: buy $100 of group gift cards and get a $25 lunch virtual card!!!! Order online at gibsonssteakhouse.com. An AWESOME gift!

  • Dec 07, 2014 by Marina

    CHI trip isn't complete without a steak of course

  • Dec 02, 2014 by Tom

    16oz filet mignon

  • Nov 24, 2014 by Christopher

    By far, Gibson's offers Chicago's best steak selections. Also, Gibson's wine selection is very expansive and affordable -- by the glass and by the bottle. A must-go if you're in Chicago!!!

  • Nov 22, 2014 by Katie

    First come first served seating at the bar, including tables. Great service. Wedge salad, roasted cauliflower gruyere and I heard they have steak.

  • Nov 16, 2014 by Katie N.

    Came here for a girl friend's birthday, it was amazing! My boyfriend and I split the bone-in ribeye and a 2lbs lobster tail -- hands down best steak dinner we've ever had across the country!

  • Nov 12, 2014 by Joe

    Chicago Cut Ribeye

  • Nov 07, 2014 by Gustavo

    Best rib n eye I've ever had!

  • Nov 02, 2014 by Sasha

    Завтраки здесь тоже хороши. Есть несколько вариантов с яйцами Бенедикт.

  • Nov 01, 2014 by Sasha

    Отличные стейки, хорошее обслуживание, колоритное помещение. Возьмите большой портерхаус на двоих - он по праву считается лучшим в городе. Из плохого только тетенька, жаждущая чаевых, в туалете.

  • Oct 29, 2014 by Ayşe

    Yemekler lezzetli, sevis süper.

  • Oct 27, 2014 by Megan

    Marvelous place!!! Took a friend here for his birthday and with one phone call for planning, Gibsons took over and everything went smoothly. Food was excellent as was the service and atmosphere.

  • Oct 19, 2014 by Shpak

    Best 48 ounce steak! Wonderful avocado crab meat salad! Thanks very much to Todd for making a reservation for us! Great service by Sherwin!

  • Oct 15, 2014 by Savas

    Chicago'ya gidip burada yemek yememek büyük kayıp.Çok profesyonelce ve muhteşem lezzetler sunan bu restaurant'da yemek yediğim için çok şanslıyım

  • Oct 12, 2014 by Alexander

    По стопам баракобамыча. Dinner.

  • Oct 11, 2014 by Meg

    Desserts here are huge, literally bigger than your head.

  • Oct 09, 2014 by Stephen

    A great Eskimo brother hangout.

  • Sep 15, 2014 by Luz

    La comida más rica de toda mi vida! Es un lugar obligatorio si te gusta la carne y todo es enorme y el servicio es inigualable

  • Sep 15, 2014 by Moonchild

    This place is pretty expensive, given the history and location but if you are a meat lover you definitely need to stop by here. Amazing steaks and the portions are big enough for two.

  • Sep 03, 2014 by Paul

    Passionate waiters, expensive beef and mammoth portions make this an enjoyable and tasty night out!

  • Aug 27, 2014 by Joseph

    Great place to class it up while you sip your whiskey.

  • Aug 26, 2014 by anna

    Ya i know i've had a lot of bd dinners. This is the best steak house in chi town.

  • Aug 25, 2014 by Angela

    The best steakhouse in Chicago. Meat is cooked and flavored to perfection. The crab avocado appetizer is delicious. Next time I need to leave room for cake because it looks amazing.

  • Aug 16, 2014 by Michael

    Enormous portions. Like, order-one-slice-of-cake-for-your-entire-table kinda thing

  • Aug 15, 2014 by Kristina

    Dinner Friday night w mum

  • Aug 14, 2014 by Frank

    Everything is good hete.

  • Aug 13, 2014 by Frank

    Ask for Mo! Cheese Cake.

  • Aug 12, 2014 by Karsten

    Chicago cut and "the meaning of life" cake

  • Aug 08, 2014 by Global

    The burger was very good here (if you are looking for something lighter than a steak). Be aware that the desserts are massive here.

  • Aug 08, 2014 by Mark

    Amazing food and service. All steak cooked perfect to order specifications.

  • Aug 03, 2014 by Redeye Chicago

    This bustling steakhouse and bar— with its USDA prime steaks, oysters on the half shell and oversized desserts—has been a Rush Street fixture since 1989.

  • Aug 02, 2014 by Time Out Chicago

    The $52 porterhouse here is impeccably seasoned and boasts warm layers of sumptuous fat running through the full-flavored meat.

  • Jun 23, 2014 by Rostislav

    Ужасно. Пошел дождь и всех кто был на веранде бросили. Видимо поняли, что хороших чаевых не видать. Цена не соответствует качеству и уровню. Больше рекомендую напротив Итальянский.

  • Jun 15, 2014 by Ilona

    Sapphire Martini and fries❤️

  • Jun 12, 2014 by Alexis

    Classic bar! Playing Frankie and all the good ones! Bartenders are very nice.

  • Jun 11, 2014 by Maricela

    Awesome macadamia turtle pie

  • Apr 12, 2014 by D

    It doesn't get any better.....Period!!!!

  • Apr 05, 2014 by Patti

    If you have the opportunity...ask for ELVIS. He absolutely the funniest and smartest wait staff you will ever find. Everything was great.

  • Apr 03, 2014 by Don

    Order the crab cakes. Not on the menu

  • Apr 03, 2014 by Autumn

    Food was amazing & so was the service! The macadamia turtle pie is massive but so worth it!

  • Mar 30, 2014 by Bob Dean

    My Ratings 1-10...10-fantastic. Same as their neighbor ... Hugo's Frog Bar ... both best place to eat in Chicago ... a perfect 10

  • Feb 21, 2014 by Jolyon

    One of the best steaks you will ever eat in your life. Go for the New York cut

  • Feb 01, 2014 by Kate

    You can order from the Hugosfrogbar menu and it's amazing. Love this place. :)

  • Jan 31, 2014 by Georg

    What a great happening place ....

  • Dec 28, 2013 by Jrubin

    Best steak ever. I grill a mean steak - lot's of compliments. However, it pales in comparison to Gibsons. Wow. Great service, the sides were delicious as was the dessert. Pricey, yes. But what an experience!

  • Dec 18, 2013 by Jacobo

    Chicago steak, o porterhouse.

  • Dec 16, 2013 by Jacobo

    Para comer carne

  • Dec 09, 2013 by Chris S. Reynolds

    Just had a decent meal ruined by horrible service at coat check... Where is the service? We just ate there and couldn't find our coat check tag. Girl running coat check with blonde hair and thick rimmed glasses scoffed at us when we lost the ticket. Here is how it went: - she got upset when we lost the ticket... I offered to show her which coat it was and she declined our help. - she looked around twice to no avail while she got more frustrated she started helping other customers and ignored us. - eventually she asked for our help so she could locate it... Took our coats out and dropped my scarf on the ground and didn't even help pick it up. She then asked for a tip. And got pissed off when we didn't tip her. Really embarrassed for a quality establishment like this to have a coat check girl ruin our night. For what she is paid... To ruin a meal for a customer spending a lot of money... She shouldn't keep her job. But her Dad probably owns or manages the place (based on attitude). All I'm saying is don't expect good service.

  • Sep 27, 2013 by sellputs

    eat in the bar. near the corner. good spot.

  • Sep 19, 2013 by Jesse

    Greg is an amazing waiter, request him! Also, get the Turtle Pie - you won't regret it.

  • Sep 15, 2013 by Bina

    The burger is good and easy on the wallet.

  • Sep 14, 2013 by Bonnie

    The best. Food

  • Aug 30, 2013 by Howard Castay

    Good Stuff. Visited Chicago this week. Steak at Gibson's was excellent, although a tiny bit too much peppercorn. stuffed potato great - so was service.

  • Aug 29, 2013 by Radim

    Make sure you wear a fur indoor in winter and at least a warm sweatshirt in summer, because this place is heavily air-conditioned!

  • Aug 22, 2013 by Tim

    Best bar ever. Every night.

  • Aug 20, 2013 by Sheryl

    Gibsons is the ultimate Chicago steakhouse. They have their own grade of beef and it is really good. Steak, Lettuce Wedge, Martini's and (pun intended) "herds" of men.

  • Aug 12, 2013 by Nffmbat

    Bad food. Used to great steak and Gibson's is about 4/10 now. Only for tourists. Stay away.....bad meat, cold sides and crowded, noisy, poor service. -----17 Aug, 2012----- It was plainly the worst steak I've had in years. The atmosphere was loud and typical but not friendly!!! The wait staff was professional but made no apologies for the overlooked and dry steaks. Truly a waste of time and $$$. Don't go. Too many choices in Chicago .

  • Jul 22, 2013 by Lili

    WR Cut sliced perfect for sharing .. And the crabmeat avocado for a starter is great

  • Jul 15, 2013 by Deepti

    Best lobster I've ever had! It's Australian lobster and it's just the sweetest lobster ever!

  • Jul 13, 2013 by Kelly

    Forget the meat, skip to the gigantic desserts...turtle pie!!!

  • Jul 08, 2013 by Marcus

    Chicago cut washed down with a bottle of Matilda - heaven

  • Jul 03, 2013 by Peter

    Drinking wine in good company

  • Jul 01, 2013 by In The Business Veteran Foodie

    One of the best restaurants in Chicago. Best steak you can get anywhere. Service is impeccable. Great atmosphere and great part of town.

  • Jun 22, 2013 by Napoleon

    Dope !! Good service , yummy food..

  • Jun 13, 2013 by Doug McMurry

    Fun place. Great service. Good wine. A little too much peppercorn on the steak.

  • May 31, 2013 by Kevin

    Great service-Mark is a great bartender and makes it a fun time for everyone at the bar

  • May 30, 2013 by ISC

    Always busy for a reason: attentive service, excellent steaks and sides; portions are ridiculously huge

  • May 27, 2013 by Cesar

    Get a game or your Ipad with you if you order your meat well-done, it's gonna take a while :)

  • May 10, 2013 by George

    They should make their items order-able from a smart phone by adding them to the app "appay biz". That way, I can order ahead using "appay"!!

  • May 06, 2013 by Time Out Chicago

    The $50 porterhouse is impeccably seasoned & boasts warm layers of sumptuous fat running through full-flavored meat. The only problem is that for $50, it's kind of small. http://tmoutchi.us/10esgeQ

  • Apr 30, 2013 by Melanie

    we split the porterhouse and mashed potatoes. Perfect for two people and the best steak I've ever had in my life.

  • Apr 26, 2013 by Cynthia

    Dirty Martinis are fabulous!

  • Apr 03, 2013 by Bob

    Zagat Iconic Restaurant 2013

  • Mar 26, 2013 by Jam

    I love this place.. #thatisall!!!!!

  • Mar 18, 2013 by Makeda

    Martinis are amazing so make sure you order one.

  • Mar 18, 2013 by Makeda

    The Chicago cut was amazing just remember the steak is seared. Bread has nuts so be warned if you have allergies. Old men will hit on you.

  • Mar 17, 2013 by Bachelor10

    They have six private rooms that can hold groups of any size. Lock one down so the crowds don’t have to hear the Bachelor sobbing when you guys tear him apart.

  • Mar 02, 2013 by Anthony

    You can order from the Hugo's menu at Gibson's and vice versa since they share a kitchen.

  • Jan 29, 2013 by Rob

    Everything about this place is impressive. Quintessential Chicago!

  • Jan 26, 2013 by Amy

    Try the Eggs Florentine

  • Jan 26, 2013 by Amy

    Try the Peppercorn Steak Salad

  • Jan 01, 2013 by Mark

    Get the filet sliders and lobster bisque soup.

  • Dec 10, 2012 by John Houseman

  • Dec 04, 2012 by BlackBook Magazine

    Juicy beef, juicier gossip in a place where even though the Porterhouse will run you $47, the killer burger can be had for just $9.75.

  • Nov 26, 2012 by Willie

    Upstairs near Mayor Daley room is a lot quieter and better or a group. Chicago cut and sautéed spinach is great.

  • Oct 18, 2012 by omogenis

    What a place...5*

  • Aug 30, 2012 by Jake

    The drinks are good, the steaks are excellent, but the desserts are the real stars here. Be warned: they're also humongous.

  • Aug 27, 2012 by Dan Kaminsky

    Great food. Great atmosphere. Rich history Chicago style. 26oz Porterhouse, 10oz fillet. Done and done!

  • Aug 08, 2012 by Hannes

    Great steaks. I had a medium-rare (pink-bloody) New York Sirloin which was very good.

  • Aug 02, 2012 by @joe4pres

    Once again I'm drawn to bars with a bartender named Joe... One of the all time best. oh, the bone in filet is money

  • Aug 01, 2012 by Jose

    Pepper steak is fantastic, especially with a dab of butter...

  • Jul 23, 2012

    Joe's such a wonderful bartender and makes the best lemon head drink...It's like a candy alcohol. Yum! What a treat!

  • Jul 23, 2012

    The lobster bisque and fillet mignon were the best!

  • Jul 13, 2012 by Mark Workin

    Wow, phenomenal food - thankful i got to eat there!!

  • Jul 05, 2012 by Couch Potato Critic

    A Must!. Every time I visit the Windy City, this place is on my to do list. Good food with great service and atmosphere always hits the spot. -----17 Nov, 2011----- Lobster & Avocado Salad. Fresh Lobster with Avacado...great combination. -----17 Nov, 2011----- Bloody mary. Hot and Spicey! -----19 Aug, 2011----- Great Place. We really enjoyed our visit and the staff was top notch. Try a cabernet with a strip medium rare....perfecto.

  • Jul 01, 2012 by UpShift Digital

    Two words (maybe three) crab cake Benedict. Oh my!

  • Jun 25, 2012 by Ashleigh

    Fabulous restaurant. Share the sides and dessert. They're huge!!

  • Jun 16, 2012 by Anastasia

    If you are eating next door at the Hugo Frog, you can always ask for the Gibson's menu.

  • Jun 16, 2012 by s

    Steak sliders at the bar, not on the menu. Both tomato salads awesome. Sit by the piano, order a martini.

  • Jun 07, 2012 by Katie

    LOVE the steak salad

  • May 29, 2012 by Travel + Leisure

    The portions are huge, so plan to share every course, including sides (the two-pound double baked potato is a signature) and desserts.

  • May 13, 2012 by Jack

    Bloodies are the best

  • May 05, 2012 by Chuck

    They make a great Patron Margarita.

  • Apr 29, 2012 by Lauren

    Their desserts are monstrous! Almost absurdly large!

  • Apr 26, 2012 by Low And Slow Cooker

  • Apr 18, 2012 by Godwin`

    Good looking and appealling...!

  • Apr 17, 2012 by Betsy

    Private dining room upstairs was great and still perfect service! Best Chicago cut in the city

  • Apr 16, 2012 by Chicago magazine

    This magnet attracts scenesters who like their meat prime and martinis huge. For those who prefer their beef on the bone, there are T-bones and NY strips, but if price matters, look to the meat loaf.

  • Apr 14, 2012 by Bethieg

  • Mar 27, 2012 by Calinda

    Share the sides. The creamed spinach is unbelievable!

  • Mar 25, 2012 by sami

    The best steak sandwich ive ever tasted. Out of this world.

  • Mar 18, 2012 by Christine

    The sliced strip steak is the best deal on the menu!

  • Mar 13, 2012 by S716819

    Food is ok but overpriced. The services was great. The food was just okay like standard steak house.

  • Mar 11, 2012 by Martina

    The Chicago cut is the best.

  • Mar 11, 2012 by David

    It's all about tall cold martinis, fantastic food, and great people watching. During the summer reserve a table on the side walk patio!

  • Mar 08, 2012 by Sierra

    Teresa and Jarek ate here during a scene in the pilot episode.

  • Feb 14, 2012 by Bachelor10

    They have six private rooms that can hold groups of any size. Lock one down so the crowds don’t have to hear the Bachelor sobbing when you guys tear him apart.

  • Feb 05, 2012 by No

    Super food! We were actually at the Rosemont location: 5464 North River RoadRosemont, IL 60018

  • Jan 15, 2012 by Gman

    Try the $24 dollar sandwich with blue cheese, the waiter will smile at you, meaning like "good choice dude". Very friendly staff, very talkative (also with non locals).

  • Jan 05, 2012 by Julie

    Sure, the steaks are outstanding. But the crab cakes are the best I've ever had.

  • Jan 05, 2012 by Yele K.

    Waited forever. The server was the rudest server we ever had to deal with. And the food wasn't all that great. Way too overrated and overpriced

  • Dec 27, 2011 by Globaleater

    A must in Chicago. My husband has been eating here forever, and I loved my first experience here. The staff is caring, friendly, and honest.. the atmosphere is fun and clean. It's a great place to meet after work or for a romantic dinner. Their lobster cobb is delicious. The sides are extremely large but well done. They slightly overcooked my steak, but I'm giving them a pass based off the time of night we ate and the crowd.. he says it has never happened in the past. I'll definitely be back again and again. Great atmosphere, staff, and food.

  • Dec 20, 2011 by BestOf

    Voted Best Steak in Chicago, IL 2010.

  • Dec 18, 2011 by Stringed Bean

  • Dec 13, 2011 by Gina

    Crab cake is the best.ever. I dream about it.

  • Nov 13, 2011 by Meg

    Chicago rib eye is a must have. Service is superb!

  • Nov 10, 2011 by Beth

    They actually have delicious fish dishes here, give one a try!

  • Nov 03, 2011 by ShopTRACY

    Bookbinder soup is outstanding!

  • Nov 02, 2011 by Time Out Chicago

    The sweet-lobster cocktail satiates two, the juicy prime rib comes in a hefty portion, and desserts are so enormous that servers cut them in two, wrapping half in a take-away bag, no questions asked.

  • Oct 28, 2011 by Andre

    A classic. Lobster tails here can go 20oz.

  • Oct 23, 2011 by JCH

    An awesome dining experience. Wonderful quality with steaks to almost die for. So full it was a waste getting the birthday cakes (choc mousse, plus keylime too!) and omg they were sooo delicious.

  • Oct 22, 2011 by Robert

    One of my all time favorites, get a private room upstairs, bring all your friends do the colossal surf and Turk with a carrot cake. And than forget eating forget eating for the rest of the week.

  • Oct 17, 2011 by Time Out Chicago

    The sweet-lobster cocktail satiates two, the juicy prime rib comes in a hefty portion, and desserts are so enormous that servers cut them in two, wrapping half in a take-away bag, no questions asked.

  • Oct 10, 2011 by Jimmy

    Overated; steaks are just average

  • Oct 03, 2011 by Crain's Chicago Business

    The lunch menu is wide-ranging in price and variety, so you can taste that prime Angus beef and luxurious seafood without spending $35 to $50 for an enormous steak or $77 for a lobster tail.

  • Sep 21, 2011 by Charles

    best steakhouse in Chi-town. Great martini as well...

  • Sep 14, 2011 by Rick

    Great Chicago restaraunt. Very good.

  • Sep 04, 2011 by William

    Really cool and respectful service. Changed seats 3 times due to wind, then rain.

  • Sep 04, 2011 by Brie

    Great service, specially when you get rained on in the patio! :P

  • Aug 30, 2011 by Aimee

    a good hearty steak joint with solid eats.

  • Aug 25, 2011 by Sean

    Piano bar player is awesome. Great atmosphere.

  • Aug 17, 2011 by MrTopStep

    Great steaks in the heart of the Viagra Triangle.

  • Aug 11, 2011 by jadalovly

    OHHH YAH! I LOVE GIBSONS!

  • Aug 09, 2011 by Michelle

    W.R. Chicago Cut is amazing!

  • Jul 30, 2011 by UT74

    This is one of the best steakhouses I've ever tried!! The atmosphere is typical rich steakhouse. A little crowed though. The server Bob was exceptional. The NY Strip bone-in was as good as it gets! None better. Highly recommend!!

  • Jul 20, 2011 by Scott

    No seats? Sit at the piano!

  • Jul 16, 2011 by TPL_JR

    Ask for Mo's table; he's been serving us so well for so long that he's become a part of our family.

  • Jul 05, 2011 by Maya

    You can enjoy Tres Generaciones Anejo. One of the best wedge salads too! and well, of course, the steak

  • May 11, 2011 by Terry Traveller

    Best steakhouse in the city. Food service location and atmosphere are all A+ what else do you want

  • Apr 24, 2011 by Karen

    Double baked potato = a must

  • Apr 17, 2011 by Patrick

    Table 7/1 is the way to go.

  • Apr 16, 2011 by Gerard

    Try the food

  • Apr 12, 2011 by Rusty

    Classic Big Time steakhouse -great service, giant perfectly cooked and well seasoned slabs of beef and a good wine list. Fun and a whole lot of food!

  • Apr 12, 2011 by MoMo

    Go BIG or .. you are at home. The atmosphere is so welcoming with the new spring flowers blooming in the boxes outdoors along the seating area and into the foyer with friendly staff greeting you. I hastened to call it old fashioned; it is just service the way it used to and should be. From our first greet to the amazing wait staff all the way upstairs to the beautiful woman assisting in the powder room. It was all about being treated like a "special" guest. And the food was delicious. Paco, our waiter extraordinaire, lead us down a path of delight. The small filet (ha, small was 10oz) was seared and sealed outside with a perfect pink in the middle. That first bite .. oh that first bite and each one after was so flavorful. It was done Oscar-style with crab meat, asparagus and hollandaise (on the side). Probably did not need it but it just put the experience over the top. I do not have red meat often. So, I was glad that I had Gibsons. I will be back to Gibsons and back to red meat. The desserts were HUGE and delicious. The chocolate mousse went well with the after dinner espresso. Others at our table had the banana cream cake and turtle pie. Everyone had some dessert. You just could not resist. Needless to say we all agreed we had to walk back to our hotels. After that big dinner and being treated so well, we all had to walk off the fantasy we had at Gibsons. Thank you, Paco and everyone for such wonderful service and amazing food p.s. The place was decorated in rich wood with many pictures of the famous and family. And it was buzzing. Good energy.

  • Apr 07, 2011 by ILUV2EAT

    Very busy.... Busy place, good food. Decent wine list. We will be back.

  • Apr 03, 2011 by Michael Rock

    Steak as it was intended. Now THIS is a steakhouse. Huge portions arriving cooked so close to perfection, it just couldn't be. Just think of the biggest, most well cooked, juicy, charred, marbled, sizzling, salty, tender, buttery piece of meat served in a clubroom atmosphere, and you'll be pretty close.

  • Mar 28, 2011 by Hunter

    Bring Money and be prepared to wait. Great steaks, great service its a must go to place.

  • Mar 23, 2011 by David

    For 20 years Gibsons has set the standard for dining excellence. An icon in Chicago. Check out the newest location in Oakbrook.

  • Mar 03, 2011 by Bruce

    In the bar, Joe mixes a fine Martini and gives both professional and friendly service.

  • Feb 13, 2011 by Lewis

    Always great. Great people. Huge desserts. Great for company parties.

  • Jan 07, 2011 by Foodspotting

    Try the Steak

  • Dec 19, 2010 by Caryn

    Absolutely disgusting. My steak was under cooked. And when they came back with what I was thinking a new steak cooked to my liking, it was my old steak re-cooked. Gross!!

  • Dec 16, 2010 by Bry

    Yummie!

  • Dec 08, 2010 by Tony

    Ask for Carl to be your server

  • Dec 06, 2010 by Peter C

    One of the best damn steaks you'll ever eat!. Fun atmosphere, side dishes were a little disappointing but the amazingly flavored and cooked steak more than made up for it! Excellent staff and I have to say the most beautiful hostess I have ever seen at any restaurant ever! 4 out of 5 stars

  • Dec 01, 2010 by Bsmart

    Carnivore delight. I prefer the Chop House's fillet to Gibson's and prefer the atmosphere at both the Chop House and Morton's to Gibson's, but that said, Gibson's martini's and steaks are top notch. If you are into "being seen" Gibson's is the place, but the Chop House and Morton's have better food.

  • Nov 28, 2010 by SHARON L.

    Dessert& a nitecap on a cold winter evening

  • Nov 05, 2010 by Geof

    Any lamb lovers are sure to love the rack chops in Gibson's...world class fare there.

  • Oct 16, 2010 by Mr. Happy

  • Sep 02, 2010 by No Doggie Bag

    Great atmosphere but wouldn't recommend for lunch. Not many choices and waiter steered away from salads. Beware of ordering dessert. A piece of carrot cake was a cake unto itself. It made me feel like I had made a terrible mistake -- not a great feeling when you're about to pay your check.

  • Aug 14, 2010 by Andrew Britt

    Great fillet mignon!!. Loved it! They are always jammed packed but totally worth it. A little on the expensive side but you can taste where your money is going. Went there for our anniversary and will go again in the near future!

  • Aug 10, 2010 by ShopTRACY

    You will always have an excellent dining experience!

  • Aug 07, 2010 by JB

    Good food and good service. Very consistent every tine. It can be loud and you better have reservation. It's also in a great area of Chicago to spend some time in walking around. If your in the mood for beef, this place is hard to beat.

  • Jul 29, 2010 by Chad

    Likes it. Good steaks. good size portions for the sides and desserts. I loved the filet medallions I had. I love to order a side of bernaise sauce to dip my steak. yum

  • Jul 11, 2010 by Garrett

    Tables in the bar are first come, first serve. Usually little to no wait finding one of these tables.

  • Jul 04, 2010 by Brian

    London broil is excellent

  • Jul 03, 2010 by GRJ

    Great lobster soup and tail. Highly recommend!

  • Jun 10, 2010 by Crain's Chicago Business

    Plan on sharing the huge double-baked potato or the platter of sautéed spinach and mushrooms. 

  • May 26, 2010 by Dave

    Excellent steak salad, if a little spicier than I expected. Remarkable, fast, responsive service.

  • May 18, 2010 by Alexandra

    Order a dirty martini at the bar and watch the mougars circle. Interesting sociological experiment.

  • May 18, 2010 by Chris

    JunoWallet for the iPhone gives you gift cards for bars and restaurants in Chicago and all over the planet...I love it and you will too...

  • May 14, 2010 by BugsMI

    We eat dinner here once a year. Food is outstanding every time. Altough tonight was the first time our server was less than outstanding. I would have to compare him to Denny's help.

  • May 08, 2010 by Leah

    Come to Gibsons ask for Bob and enjoy his cream pie...it will drive you wild.

  • Apr 25, 2010 by Myra

    Crabmeat avocado salad, lobster salad, oysters & shrimp! Great place for some appetizers, bubbly & people watching :-)

  • Apr 09, 2010 by Yummy In My Tummy

    Our family stopped in for lunch and had a fantastic experience. Great service, kind and friendly. The skirt steak was amazing.

  • Mar 21, 2010 by TX Connection

    Never a Bad Experience. I always try to make it here when I'm in town, with clients or friends. The food, service, and drinks are great. Enjoy the Martini's... Cheers!!!

  • Mar 19, 2010 by Kathryn

    Go for the oysters (special now: 13 for $13) -- but add the lump crab/avocado, and... smile.

  • Mar 14, 2010 by J-twigga

    Instead of heading down to Gibsons for steaks, stop in at Bennigans and blow $330 on brewmans at 3:30 and end up not having enough money to afford steaks, only to have your friend propose to the waitress. What a concept, huh?

  • Feb 05, 2010 by Cathy

    Amazing Garbage salad. If you have room you must try the ice cream turtle pie

  • Feb 01, 2010 by EMAC

    You must order the W.R. Chicago Cut

  • Jan 22, 2010 by Dorian

    Outstanding every time.

  • Jan 10, 2010 by Fabian

    Excellent. Dont mind the crowds the steak is phenomenal!

  • Nov 29, 2009 by Ebpcg

  • Nov 24, 2009 by Michael

    You must try the Macadamia Turtle pie, it is fabulous and huge. You can order one and share it with three other people. Yum!

  • Nov 21, 2009 by iesha

    Take friends. Go early for drinks. Dine. Share desert. Excellent ambiance with great food & exceptional service.

  • Nov 10, 2009 by JH

    Fabulous Chicago steakhouse experience!

  • Oct 19, 2009 by Anita

    Went to Gibson's for their chopped chicken livers. Not on menu-ask for it. Goes great with the awesome martinis!

  • Sep 22, 2009 by Epinew

    The place for steak in chi-town

  • Sep 18, 2009 by Big Ragu

    My Kinda Place. Whenever I am in town this is one of the four places I always dine at. Great steaks and Martinis. Never a disappointment.

  • Aug 23, 2009 by Stacy W.

    We found the menu overpriced and the food portions huge. The service was good but our own waiter suggested that we go to Mortons instead!

  • Aug 04, 2009 by Tim

    Luckily got to enjoy their 20th anniversary with prices from 1989. What a bargain and a great place to sit outside!

  • Jul 02, 2009 by Phixed

    Standard Steakhouse Done Right. Really nothing special about the menu but the attention to detail is fantastic and everything they serve is cooked to perfection.

  • Jul 01, 2009 by Daryl Stephens

    The real deal Chicago steakhouse. Please before you go to some chain eat at gibsons and enjoy.

  • Jun 25, 2009 by John

    One of the top twenty restaurants I've been to. Ambiance and great service makes the food taste just that much better. Honestly, the food don't remember. I do recall the ambiance.

  • Jun 06, 2009 by Sue

    Gluttony. I hadn't ever seen a 20-something lb porterhouse steak until Gibsons, and it was impressive. Food is really rich - get ready to EAT. Great martinis and noisy good fun.

  • Mar 10, 2009 by 5 Points

    The Best!. One of the best restaurants in the country.... Kathy is the best.

  • Nov 30, 2008 by Dan360man

    Best place in town to people-watch. The food and service at Gibson's are both superb, but that's not why I like this place. If you enjoy making fun of women with way too much plastic surgery, or old farts with trophy girlfriends, this is the place for you. Period. It's also a good, classy place to grab a drink before you hit up the bars on Rush Street.

  • Aug 14, 2008 by Greenwood

    A Perfect Steakhouse. Every trip to Chicago I have to make at least one stop at Gibsons. To me its the ideal steakhouse. For years it has been one of my favorite restaurants. Year after year I go back and its always the same great place. The steaks are as good as you'll find and cooked to perfection. The only thing bad about Gibsons was you eat so much you don't have room for dessert, which are just as good. Bring your appetite and be prepared to wait. Even with a reservation you'll have to wait a bit, but its worth the wait. Well worth it.

  • Jan 17, 2008 by jaydre

    Wonderful place to go for any occasion. Mouthwatering steak. Excellent atmosphere. Nice workers and decent prices.